Chinese Music for Language Learning

“So why do you love learning Chinese?” I get asked this all the time from both American and Chinese people. A language so challenging and complex, Mandarin doesn’t seem like a realistic choice for a Black kid who never lived in Asia before. My response to those questions: the music.

In spring after my acceptance to NSLI-Y, a Hong Konger friend of mine suggested I start listening to “Mandopop” to improve my comprehension skills and prepare for a summer in Asia. Through his Spotify playlists, he introduced me to artists such as JJ Lin, Jay Chou, Karen Mok, and G.E.M. From there, I entered the world of Chinese music, a genre that exposed me to Chinese history, relationships, and culture. playing JJ Lin’s 不为谁而作的歌 on repeat and harmonizing with Joker Xue’s 像风一样 in the shower, I was familiarizing myself  withChinese-speaking places as a whole. This preparation made my transition to living in Taiwan a lot smoother than I expected. Everywhere I went, I used music to break the ice. “你也喜欢听中文歌吗?” From dinner conversations with my host family to lunchtime chats with my teachers, music showed others my authenticity for learning Chinese. When Taiwanese people learned that I listened to Chinese music, they realized that I wasn’t just another tourist snapping photos of monuments and learning surface-level information about their home, but rather a citizen ambassador trying to dive into a new culture with enthusiasm. 

Diving into Chinese music was synonymous with diving into Taiwanese life. As I grew more comfortable on the island, I surrounded myself with more Chinese artists and lyrics. I embraced/fell in love with local artists like A-Mei, Waa Wei, Eric Chou, and the popular band Mayday. Taiwanese music with foreign inspiration communicated to me the history of Japanese colonization and American influence on the island . I became more comfortable listening to a softer Taiwanese accent and expanding my vocabulary. Every bus ride became an opportunity for me to pop in my headphones and dive deeper into my host country.

Years later, I still use music to keep myself connected to Taiwan and Mandarin. Although I’m miles away in the United States, and in an English-speaking environment, Tiger Hu or Eason Chan’s ballads  transport me back to my time in Taiwan. As my language abilities evolve, I more deeply cherish the stories of history, love, culture, and strength told by Mandarin-speaking artists.

By: Hassane Fiteni

Leave a comment