Grounding Yourself

Studying abroad is challenging. During the pre-departure orientation, implementing organizations will simultaneously warn you of culture shock-induced lows and simultaneously urge you to push yourself, be uncomfortable, and be grateful for the opportunity you are given. Reconciling these two forces of the NSLI-Y experience are, in my opinion, the most difficult aspects of studying abroad. Although we may convince ourselves that we are mentally stable or ready for the challenge, there will be days where everything feels like it is falling apart, you are failing the commitments that you made to the program and yourself, and you want to go home.

The most important lesson I learned was to ground myself and to prioritize my needs. Caring for myself allowed me to better connect with the outside world and soak up the immersion experience. I learned to shamelessly take breaks when I needed them and found hobbies that I could do by myself which helped to recharge my motivation. I began actively doing yoga when I felt stressed and journaling every day. I recommend all NSLI-Y students find at least one hobby they can individually continue abroad whether that be running, playing video games, drawing, doing yoga, etc. and return to that hobby when they are feeling overwhelmed.
As always, there is also a vibrant community of other NSLI-Y students with experiences to draw upon, and connecting with the NSLI-Y community while abroad can make your experience even more meaningful.

By: Kate Hein

Leave a comment